My Sister
11:16 a.m. on July 22, 2004
MY SISTER

My sister, Annette is older than me by 7 years, so I feel like she had a hand in raising me. I remember the sound of her breath when I was a small child as she carried me to the park or around town. Before I was a strong swimmer, she would let me hang on to her braid as she swam us out to the farthest buoy in Lake Mendocino; she had me on one braid and our cousin on the other. She always wanted to play and made a game out of everything. When I had a slumber party she helped to entertain my guests and would always help me pass the time on a rainy day or on car trips. She took me to get my ears pierced for the first time when I was 9 years old and took me to my first concert when I was 14. When she moved out of our family home to go to school in San Francisco, I cried a seemingly never-ending flow of tears. I loved to hop a Greyhound bus to come visit her in the city; first in the dorms and then at her own apartment in the Castro district she shared with 4 other friends. Their kitchen was painted lime green and bright pink. The day our Mother died, I remember looking at Annette and laughing, because the whole idea was so absurd. Later I ended up projectile vomiting all over the bathroom and Annette insisted on cleaning up the mess, even though she was hurting so much. My sister has been my greatest strength and support, not just for the last 2 years, but also for my whole life. I love you, dear sister and thank you with all my heart.





Space Holder. - February 12, 2012

BEAUTIFUL BOY - August 26, 2011

COUNTDOWN - July 13, 2011

SEXAY - June 16, 2011

BACKWARDS AND FORWARDS - May 30, 2011

paleo neo