What a way to make a living
1:10 p.m. on September 24, 2004
I took a slight detour from the regular workday & went with Karen, the Messaging Services Data Associate, to take some old monitors to the rendering plant. It was a little road trip in her beat up Chevy truck. First we bought mocha�s on the company dime and then lunged onto the freeway, while she gestured with one hand and held her coffee/steered with the other hand. I was mentally screaming as we crossed 4 lanes of heavy traffic and nearly merged into a semi-truck. We somehow managed to get to the monitor disposal place in one piece. Six men came out & immediately carried in all 8 monitors for us. We went inside the place to pay & we could see tons of old computer and electronic equipment waiting to be torn to bits & made into glue or whatever they do with old parts like that. It was really quite sad, and reminded me of animal rendering plants, but not as sad as that. We bid adieu to our old monitors and high tailed it out of there.

I used to drink a lot of coffee when I first moved to Seattle. With the dark winters, coffee (also called joy juice) is a requirement to help keep you from throwing yourself out a window. Now that I am used to the 4-hours of daylight in winter, I only have a quick cup before I leave the house in the morning. The bonus mocha today, plus the several near death moments on the drive home (she put on her road rage hat at one point & this time I screamed out loud) has sent me into a tailspin of nerves and jitters. At least it helps to improve my typing speed. I am so ready for the weekend.

Dagmar, the support person told me in confidence that she is going to put in her 2 weeks notice in 2 weeks. I think I am going to ask if I can do her job on top of my work, because I could sure use the extra cash & job security. This would mean I would actually have to do some work, however, which is a big deterrent.

I am totally a nine to fiver, folks, and live for the weekend like the clich� that I am. The fact that it is late afternoon on a Friday & I am filled to the gills with caffeine & a new respect for traffic laws has me climbing my cubicle walls while singing a happy tune.

Have a lively weekend.





Space Holder. - February 12, 2012

BEAUTIFUL BOY - August 26, 2011

COUNTDOWN - July 13, 2011

SEXAY - June 16, 2011

BACKWARDS AND FORWARDS - May 30, 2011

paleo neo