DOGS AND BIRDS
11:05 a.m. on October 20, 2005

I am an animal person, but if I have to choose, I would have to say that I am a dog person, a dog person without a dog. We have wanted to get a dog for quite awhile, but something always holds us back. It will be a lot more responsibility and work than the two cats we have now, and frankly we are lazy. Plus it will disrupt the precarious eco-system that is currently the lives of our cats. They will HATE to have a dog and it may even push the older one to an early grave. Also, deciding what kind of dog to get is more pressure. We want some sort of mixed mutt, but what mixes? Sasha favors Daschund�s and Boxer�s while I lean toward lab�s and Sheppard�s. I think our lives will improve exponentially with the love of a shaggy dog around; it is just a matter of taking the plunge.

Unrelated, I am obsessed with the bird flu. The Avian Influenza. H5N1. At this point it is being transferred from birds to humans. It could mutate and start to transfer from human to human. If this happens, it could travel the globe at a rapid rate and kill millions of people worldwide. The economic effects could be staggering, creating a depression. A depression WITHOUT bread lines, because people would be too scared to stand in them. New York city could be shut down by a government-imposed quarantine. I was explaining this to some friends the other day and they were looking at me like I am NUTS. Then I caught a bit of the film: Bowling for Columbine by Michael Moore that is running on Bravo. He was talking about how the media manages to get Americans into a frenzy with their panic-stricken style of broadcasting. He brought up the stories on Killer Bees about 10 years ago and how they were coming to wreak havoc in the U.S., but of course never did. Am I a victim of the media again? Who knows? Virologists are certain the bird flu will become a pandemic that will affect every person in the world in one way or another. There is nothing really that I can do about it. I am not worried about dying (although I am concerned for loved ones) and I am not letting it effect my daily life, but I am interested in learning more about it. I can�t help but wonder�

Of course I am still waiting for that giant underground volcano to erupt, as well.

Anyway, should I get a dog?






Space Holder. - February 12, 2012

BEAUTIFUL BOY - August 26, 2011

COUNTDOWN - July 13, 2011

SEXAY - June 16, 2011

BACKWARDS AND FORWARDS - May 30, 2011

paleo neo