GENDER GUILT
12:43 p.m. on June 26, 2007


Sorry for yet another pregnancy post, but nothing else is happening right now.

I am officially at the half way point and tomorrow I go in for my 20 week big ultrasound, where hopefully, if all goes well, we will find out the sex of the baby. I have to admit, I am partial to having a girl and I am experiencing a bit of gender guilt over this desire. I worry that if it is a boy he will be warped in some way by my hope for a daughter.

Due to some weird things that were happening in the beginning of my pregnancy, I have already had 5 smaller ultrasounds, including one at 15 weeks. As the tech was moving the wand around my belly looking at the child from all angles, she suddenly blurted: �Oh, I think I see something between the legs!� My reaction was dead silence and a dead, expressionless face. I just was not expecting her to say that and I would have hoped my response would have been better. After noticing my lack of enthusiasm, she back-tracked a bit and said it was probably too early to tell and the 20 week check-up could tell us for sure.

I already figure the odds are it is a boy and I am getting better used to this fact. I think the main issue is that I have had a girl name picked out for over two years that honors both sides of my family and I cannot find any boy names I just love. Oh well, we still have over 4 months to come up with something. My brother votes for the name Geronimo or Ichabod.

If for some reason the baby is not cooperating by showing off the genitalia at the time of the appointment, I am going to freak out, but will serve me right, eh?






Space Holder. - February 12, 2012

BEAUTIFUL BOY - August 26, 2011

COUNTDOWN - July 13, 2011

SEXAY - June 16, 2011

BACKWARDS AND FORWARDS - May 30, 2011

paleo neo