STORMS, MALL SHOPPING AND OTHER WINTER MALEVOLENCE
11:46 a.m. on December 14, 2006


Jeebus effing rice krispy treats, it is pouring like a bastard out there right now. Mother Nature has pointed her wrath on the Pacific Northwest this year; we have been getting slammed with extreme floods, snow, ice, intense winds and rain, rain, rain. The 25th was the only day in November that it did not rain and December is shaping up to be a doozy as well. Another wind storm is coming tonight with gusts expected up to 70 miles per hour. Now, I like a good storm and I don�t mind the rain and near constant darkness that come with the winters up here, but it can start to get to you after awhile. Lately all I want to do is sleep, eat chocolate and watch a chick flick marathon while crying into my hot cocoa.

Instead of spending the entire weekend in bed last week, I went to the mall. I loath the mall, especially around the holidays, but it had to be done. Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday were dedicated to getting all the gifts I could find for my family, who all live in another state, so I could spend the week wrapping them and get them in the mail by this morning. I undertook the task and performed like a champ. Sasha came with me to the mall on Saturday with instructions to find items for his father & one brother. We split up for maximum efficiency and met back up at the bookstore 90 minutes later; me laden with packages, he empty handed.

By 7:00 pm Monday evening, I went to one more bookstore and then one more shop near my house and thus completed my gift buying quest. Feeling satisfied, self-congratulatory, not to mention starving and tired, I headed home. Nature had another idea, however and knocked an 80 foot tree down from my neighborhood onto a power line toward the freeway. The entire freeway was closed down in both directions right at the entrance of my neighborhood. Traffic was redirected, but was basically at a standstill. Luckily I had picked up some Yakisoba, so by the time I got home, we could just sit and eat and cry into our hot cocoa.






Space Holder. - February 12, 2012

BEAUTIFUL BOY - August 26, 2011

COUNTDOWN - July 13, 2011

SEXAY - June 16, 2011

BACKWARDS AND FORWARDS - May 30, 2011

paleo neo