Simulating the Apparent Motion of the Sun
9:34 a.m. on October 26, 2005

I can�t choose a favorite season; I like them all. Maybe my least favorite season is summer, but not summer in Seattle, summer in the mid-west or the south or my hometown in a California valley where it gets god-awful, piss hot. Seattle summer is quite pleasant; it only gets to be about 90 degrees once or three times a year. The days are nice and long; you can play Frisbee in the park until almost 11:00 at night.

I am totally digging the fall right now. The leaves began to change here almost 2 months ago, so they are already beginning to fall and pile up in the street. The best is when we get some wind like we did yesterday and leaves swirl around in the sky in competition with the birds. They are doing a lot of roadwork around here, so there is a huge pile of dirt on the side of the highway. A big gust hit it yesterday on my way home and it was suddenly a sand storm in Afghanistan. I squealed out an excited �WOO!� as I swerved my car around in the storm. I am also partial to autumn because the colors suit me best.

I have never experienced a bad winter. I do not know what it is like to wake up to snow everyday for two months straight. I don�t think I have ever experienced anything colder than 20 degrees Fahrenheit. I cannot even comprehend 30 degrees BELOW Fahrenheit. Where I grew up in California, we would get the random one or two days of snow every other year and the schools would shut down and it was the best gift you could get. That is sort of the same in Seattle, except I still have to come to work, no snow days for mature adults.

The big draw back of a winter in Seattle is the 19 hours of darkness a day that starts to settle in just after daylight savings. I don�t mind, because then they put out all the holiday lights on the trees outside to make it sparkly pretty and easier to see as you walk down the street. That kind of darkness does get you ready for Spring and I never cease to be amazed at all the new flowers that crop up once the earth starts to warm up again.

Do you have a favorite season?






Space Holder. - February 12, 2012

BEAUTIFUL BOY - August 26, 2011

COUNTDOWN - July 13, 2011

SEXAY - June 16, 2011

BACKWARDS AND FORWARDS - May 30, 2011

paleo neo