DON'T STOP MOVING
1:08 p.m. on December 05, 2006

I am slightly overwhelmed.

The beloved company where I work has been dealing with some hard times ever since the bottom fell out of the dot com boom, but has managed to survive thus far. It has been whittled from 100 employees to now just 19; I somehow survived several rounds of downsizing. Now in exactly one month we must move out of our large & lovely office space with a view of the lake to a small floor of an old 70�s building fraught with asbestos. The new location is only one mile away, but since it is in the heart of downtown, I estimate it will add at least 15 minutes onto my already long commute. Although we will now be on the 19th floor, our new view mainly consists of the other surrounding buildings with a dollop of Puget Sound seen in between.

I am the number two person in charge of this move and, although I have moved households about a bazillion times, I have never moved an entire office. All the ex-employees and executives we have gone through over the last 7 years have left a variety of stuff and junk in every possible nook and cranny. Every time I look around at all the massive piles I need to deal with I feel besieged with trepidation.

Apart from that, I am excited by the move. There are plusses and minuses. A plus being that I will be smack dab in the middle of downtown where all types of shopping is at my fingertips. A minus is that I will be smack dab in the middle of downtown which is no place to be when a large earthquake rumbles through. A plus is that I get my very own office with a door and everything. A minus is that my new office is exactly half the size of my old cubicle which boasted complete privacy as no one else sat remotely near me.

I am very lucky that my office is paying for my downtown parking space. Parking realty is in such high demand in that area, that my space will cost $300 a month!

With all the old furniture and mountains of old paperwork, when all is said and done, I will be throwing out, shredding and recycling about 20 tons of office junk.

I always did like a good purge.





Space Holder. - February 12, 2012

BEAUTIFUL BOY - August 26, 2011

COUNTDOWN - July 13, 2011

SEXAY - June 16, 2011

BACKWARDS AND FORWARDS - May 30, 2011

paleo neo