A FATHER�S DAY TOAST
1:17 p.m. on June 13, 2008

I would like to propose a toast to the Father�s out there.

First to my Grandpa who passed away this year; he was such a big part of our family. Always at the head of the table, sharing his stories and telling us to count our blessings. We could always count on him to start singing an Irish tune and keep the dinner table lively for hours. He was forever interested in what you are doing and what you have been up to, and could manage to get you to smile no matter what. Plus, he always loved a good toast!

To Sasha�s Granddad, Hank, who died just last year at the age of 95. He was the smartest man I ever met and sharp as a tack until his end. I was always amazed by how well he knew is way around the internet at his age and what a great love he had for his whole family.

To Sasha�s Dad, Henry, who we lost way too soon and too suddenly this year. He was the 2nd smartest man I knew and made our lives so much better. When Sasha & I eloped in Las Vegas (before the real wedding party a year later), Henry and Sasha�s mom flew to Vegas to crash our wedding. We could not have been more surprised or delighted. When we fell into some trouble with our son�s early delivery and mounting medical bills, Henry helped us exponentially. He was able to meet Finn the day after he was born and for this I thank the stars and almost forgive the heavens for taking him from us too early.

To my own dad, John Herman, who is thankfully still with us! He is the type of dad to build forts with his kids with blankets and sofa cushions and always knew how to make you feel better from a skinned knee or a broken heart; with a scoop of ice cream from Baskin and Robbins. He never takes the straight route to any destination, but is sure to stop at every single road side attraction or to take a quick dip in the ocean. He discovered poetry late in life and can write a killer Haiku. Here�s one I wrote for him:

John Herman Last Name
Your heart connects to my heart
My son has your smile

To my husband Sasha on his very first father�s day, thank you for being the cement foundation, every step of the way; from the difficulties of conception, to the tribulations of pregnancy, to the terror of early labor, to the intense joyfulness and magnificence of birth. Our son has benefited from your willingness to be at home with him for the early part of his growth and from all your love and attention. I hope he grows up to be just like you.

To my own son, Finn; I can see your father in your eyes, my grandfather in your large, Irish head, my dad in your smile and Henry in your genius. You will be an amazing father and grandfather yourself someday, if that is the path that chooses you.

And finally, to everyone who has lost a father, may this Sunday be a day of salutation filled with all the best memories.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket





Space Holder. - February 12, 2012

BEAUTIFUL BOY - August 26, 2011

COUNTDOWN - July 13, 2011

SEXAY - June 16, 2011

BACKWARDS AND FORWARDS - May 30, 2011

paleo neo