RED EASTER
10:05 a.m. on March 25, 2008

Our friends were planning on having a group of 11 of us over for Easter dinner (including 2 babies and 1 six year old) on Sunday, but then one of them got the nasty viral cold that is going around, so the dinner got moved at the last minute to our other friend�s house. They did a great job getting it together on such short notice and everything was lovely and delicious. I wanted to make the dessert, because I wanted to try my hand at making a Red Velvet cake. I have never even tasted one before, but thought it would be a colorful cake for Easter. I did not have a recipe, so I checked the Internet and found, to my chagrin, that there are thousands of different recipes, each slightly different. Some called for honey, some called for vinegar and one even said you could just get some German chocolate cake batter from a box and dye it red. I had no idea which would be the best tasting, so I just picked one at random that called for buttermilk and 2 dashes of unsweetened cocoa, plus a buttload of red dye. The cream cheese frosting is supposed to be the Pi�ce de r�sistance.

The cake tasted just fine, but nothing spectacular and not worth sharing the recipe. The main draw about the cake is that it is red. I would like to taste some other kinds to compare the flavor, because maybe a different recipe will prove this to be an amazing cake flavor, but I was not all that impressed. It does give me better ideas for Halloween blood cakes, however.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

This was baby�s first Easter, which was more exciting for me than you would think. I have good memories of getting an Easter basket and believing in the Easter bunny. My grandmother always gave us kids a special Easter outfit and I found that I had to do the same for Finn, which of course called for a blue plaid cap with matching trousers. It surprised me that I felt the need to dress up my baby for the occasion. I am looking forward to when he will appreciate Easter baskets and egg hunts.

Photobucket


Photobucket





Space Holder. - February 12, 2012

BEAUTIFUL BOY - August 26, 2011

COUNTDOWN - July 13, 2011

SEXAY - June 16, 2011

BACKWARDS AND FORWARDS - May 30, 2011

paleo neo